Introducing: Youth Lagoon

Another gem from across the pond we’ve recently come across is Youth Lagoon, aka Trevor Powers – a one-man band from Boise, Idaho.

This is dreamy, emotive lo-fi pop that’s a soundtrack to the balmy summer as much as the bleak midwinter – tracks like “July” and “Cannons” recall the likes Bon Iver, The Antlers, Crystal Stilts and fellow tortured heart on sleeve songwriter Perfume Genius. Sitting amongst such vaunted company (and possessing a great deal of melody and charm), it’s highly unlikely that Powers will be recording in his bedroom for too much longer.

Indeed, his 8-track mini album, “The Year Of Hibernation” (perhaps that’s where the Bon Iver image comes from) was originally due out on 5 July in the States via small indie Juno Beach Records, but a statement on their website declares that this won’t be happening after all, and that the project was “mutually nixed” due to some larger labels taking a serious interest.

Check out and download the two aforementioned tracks below, and be sure to keep an eye out for the new LP release date. On the evidence we’ve heard so far, it could well be list worthy come December.

MP3: Youth Lagoon – July
MP3: Youth Lagoon – Cannons

Leave a Reply

Formatting: You can use these tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

Other Entries

Past LFC performance